University implementing college merger July 1

SF State will officially move forward with its college merger July 1, implementing the six-college structure that was approved by a faculty referendum last week.

The six colleges are: the College of Arts and Humanities (which will also house the school of arts), the College of Business, the Graduate School of Education, the College of Ethnic Studies, the College of Health and Human Services, and the College of Science and Engineering.

“When I look back on the process that started over a year ago, with UPAC, I am once again struck by the positive spirit in which our University has carried on this conversation and the high quality of what we — together — have been able to create,” wrote President Robert A. Corrigan in a email to faculty announcing the decision.

Corrigan noted that the two-thirds approval by faculty during the referendum, the results of which were released April 15, were part of the reason he and Provost Sue Rosser decided to move forward in the process.

The initial creation of the University Planning Advisory Council and the uncertainty of what the college merger would mean for departments has been a source of ongoing controversy, with many faculty and staff upset at a seeming lack of involvement.

But the results of the second referendum were in stark contrast to the results of the first vote when faculty voted by a wide margin against alternatives one and three, and narrowly accepted alternative two.

As the July 1 implementation of the proposal approaches, the dean’s will work together with their faculty to refine the colleges both fiscally and structurally, according to Corrigan’s email.

“During the remainder of the semester, we will be planning for a smooth, rapid transition, keeping you informed of our progress,” Corrigan said.

You can view the placement of each department at the Academic Unit Reorganization Proposal website.